Reciprocal Borrowing

Borrowing Agreement

Reciprocal Participants

Borrowing by Library

Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement

Nebraska Library Association - College and University Section

I. Definition

Reciprocal borrowing is a policy whereby the faculty, staff and students of cooperating college and university libraries in Nebraska may, on site, borrow library materials at other, cooperating academic libraries.

In the following document, "home library" designates an institution whose users borrow materials from another, cooperating library.  "Host library" refers to an institution lending materials to individuals visiting from other campuses.

II. Purpose

The purpose of the Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement is to provide the academic community with convenient access to circulating library materials, for teaching and research, as an alternative to interlibrary loan.

III.  Scope

Library users eligible for reciprocal borrowing are those with valid faculty, staff, or student identification cards from a cooperating institution.  "Valid" identification is defined by the host library.

This Agreement is intended to complement, not invalidate, reciprocal borrowing arrangements which may exist between varying types of cooperating institutions.

It is understood that users may approach another library directly, without necessarily being referred by their own institution.  This is entirely appropriate under the terms of this agreement, provided that the home library complies with the responsibilities outlined below.

To the extent that it is necessary for the cooperating libraries to maintain records of delinquent borrowers, such records will be maintained in confidence and will not be available to persons other than those involved in the return of library materials or the assessment and collection of related charges.

IV.  Responsibilities of Home Libraries

    1. Each cooperating library should provide resources to support the ordinary teaching and research needs of their own user community.  Home libraries must exhaust their own resources before referring their clientele to other academic collections.
    2. The home library should assist in enforcing compliance with the conditions of the loan, as established by the host.  All overdues, recalls, or fines issued by the host should be dealt with by the home institution using the same means used to enforce its own policies, provided that the home institution is given timely notice of a borrower's delinquent status.  The home library is not responsible, however, for collecting fines or other charges its patron(s) may owe to another institution. Patrons must pay the host library directly.
    3. Each library should inform its users of the purpose of the Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement, and of its policy of compliance with the host library's conditions, through whatever channels normally are used to convey library policy.
    4. Referrals should be based, whenever possible, on prior knowledge of the host library's collection, as obtained from relevant bibliographic location sources, or directly from the host.  This information should be relayed as completely and accurately as possible to users before they visit the host site.
    5. Unless specifically forbidden by the host library, copying borrowed material is permitted provided that it does not violate copyright law and that no damage to the original material would result.
    6. Borrowed materials should be returned directly to the host library by the borrowers, or through any other channels acceptable to the host.  All material returned by mail should be addressed to the circulation department of the host library.

V. Responsibilities of Host Libraries

    1. As far as possible, host libraries should require only a valid identification card to permit visiting faculty, staff, and students to charge out their materials.  Hosts are encouraged to be as generous as possible in extending borrowing privileges to visitors.
       2. Host libraries are encouraged to provide users visiting from other campuses with reference assistance, especially that which can only be provided on site, with due consideration to the interests of their primary clientele.
    3. Each cooperating library should formulate a statement of policy to clarify details of this agreement, such as loan periods, hold and clearance procedures, etc.  This statement should be made available to other participants in the Agreement upon request.

VI.  Maintaining the Agreement

Each library is responsible for complying with the provisions of the Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement in good faith.  Host libraries have the option of suspending reciprocal borrowing privileges to libraries that fail to comply with these provisions.

All records and correspondence of lasting significance that pertain to the Agreement are maintained by the Nebraska Library Association College and University Section.

Revisions to this document may be introduced at either the NLA College and University Section spring meeting or at the Section's fall business meeting, held during the NLA annual convention.  Motion(s) may then be voted on by a quorum of the Section members present.

      Rev. July 20, 1990;
      Reaffirmed with no changes  February 1999

For questions regarding this document, contact Melissa Cast-Brede

Participants in Reciprocal Borrowing Program

(Forty One Members) - Updated October 2008

Institution (Link to Hours) Contact Phone E-Mail
Bellevue University Barbara Haney 402-557-7307 barbara.haney@
bellevue.edu
Central Community College,
Columbus

Dee Johnson 402-562-1418 djohnson@
cccneb.edu
Central Community College,
Grand Island
Linda Bowden 308-398-7395 lbowden@
cccneb.edu
Central Community College,
Hastings
Sherrie Dux-Ideus 402-461-2538 sideus@
cccneb.edu
Chadron State College Glenda Gamby 308-432-6148 ggamby@
csc.edu
Clarkson College
(Faculty Only)
Nicole Caskey 402-552-3387 library@
clarksoncollege.edu
College of St. Mary Sr. Judy Pat Healy 402-399-2631 jhealy@
csm.edu
Concordia University Thomas Krenzke 402-643-7256 tom.krenzke@
cune.edu
Creighton University,
Health Science Library

(Faculty only;
Print material only)
Richard Jizba 402-280-5142 richardjizba@
creighton.edu
Creighton University,
Reinert/Alumni Library
Debra Sturges 402-280-4756 dsturges@
creighton.edu
Creighton University,
Klutznick Law Library

(Faculty only)
Steve Williams 402-280-2242 lawcirculation@
creighton.edu
Doane College Julie Pinnell 402-826-8568 julie.pinnell@
doane.edu
Grace University Ben Brick 402-449-2979 library@
graceu.edu
Hastings College Susan Franklin 402-461-7411 sfranklin@
hastings.edu
ITT Technical Institute Kara Pulchow 402-331-2900
ext. 23
kpulchow@
ITT-Tech.edu
Kaplan College -
Lincoln Campus

Formerly Hamilton College & Lincoln School of Commerce
Shari Bills 402-474-5315
         ext. 240
sbills@
hamiltonlincoln.edu
Kaplan University -
Omaha Campus

formerly Hamilton College & Nebraska College of Business
Ela Ciborowski 402-431-6156 eciborowski@
hamiltonomaha.edu
McCook Community College Pat Bonge 308-345-8127
bongep@
mpcc.edu
Metropolitan Community
College
Scott Mahoney 402-289-1324 smahoney@
mccneb.edu
Midland University Barbara Coke 402-941-6253 coke@midlandu.edu
Mid-Plains Community College Keith Saathoff 308-532-8980 kasaatho@
ziggy.mpcc.cc.ne.us
Nebraska Christian College Linda Lloyd 402-279-5104 llloyd@
nechristian.edu
Nebraska Indian Community College
(Omaha Tribal Library /
Santee Tribal Library)
Ryan Elder 402-837-5078  
Nebraska Methodist College,
John Moritz Library
(Faculty only;
Print material only)
Tem Adair 402-354-7248 Tem.Adair@
methodistcollege.edu
Nebraska Wesleyan Univ. Margaret Emons 402-465-2405 memons@
nebrwesleyan.edu
Northeast Community
College
LaRae Worden 402-844-7130 marylouise@
northeastcollege.com
Peru State College Susan Abrahams 402-872-2311 sabrahams@
oakmail.peru.edu
Southeast Community
College
, Beatrice
Cathy Barringer 204-228-3468
#224
cabarring@
southeast.edu
Southeast Community
College
, Lincoln
Jo Shimmin 402-437-2586 jshimmin@
southeast.edu
Southeast Community
College,
Milford
Arden Mohrman 402-761-8423 amohrman@
southeast.edu
St. Gregory The Great
Seminary
Dr. Terrence
Nollen
402-643-4052
Summit Christian College Evelyn Hopper 308-632-6933 contact@
summitcc.net
Union College Jeannette Wetmore 402-486-2514 interlibraryloan@
ucollege.edu
University of Nebraska
at Kearney
Dee Goedert 308-865-8597 goedertd@
unk.edu
University of Nebraska
at Omaha
Robert L. Smith 402-554-3206 rlsmith@
mail.unomaha.edu
University of Nebraska -
Lincoln,

Love Library and branches
Deb Pearson 402-472-4260 debp@
unllib.unl.edu
University of Nebraska -
Lincoln,
Schmid Law Library
Sandy Placzek 402-472-8261 splaczek2@
unl.edu
University of Nebraska
Medical Center

Confirm eligibility via link.
Rod Cope 402-559-4006 rcope@
unmc.edu
Vatterott College Lynda Muller 402-891-9411
ext. 126
lynda.muller@
vatterott-college.edu
Wayne State College
(No loans for "Popular
Reading Collection" or  glass laser
discs)
Maria Johnson 402-375-7261 majohns1@
wsc.edu
Western Nebraska
Community College
, Scottsbluff
Jill Ellis 308-635-6133 jellis@
wncc.net
Western Nebraska Community College, Sidney Vacant - Contact Scottsbluff 308-254-7451  
York College Leo Miller 402-363-5706 Leo.miller@
york.edu